If you've been arrested for felony DUI in Orange County, don't put off hiring a lawyer who knows how to defend these charges in Orange County. It is also highly recommended you do not speak with police or investigators until retaining a lawyer who can advise you of your rights and ensure the state doesn't violate those that are constitutionally protected. Which lawyer you hire is of course your choice, however we hope to be able to serve you in protecting your liberty and civil rights. Give our office a call.
Call Now - (949) 622-5522
Felony DUI is a serious crime in California with consequences that can last up to 10 years. A felony DUI charge arises when a driver commits a traffic crime while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Additionally, the traffic violation must cause a death or serious injury, unless the driver has previously been convicted of felony DUI. In California, a DUI conviction will stay on one's criminal record for up to 10 years. Additional DUIs that occur in the 10-year timeframe are treated cumulatively, meaning subsequent DUIs will automatically be charged as felonies.
There are four ways a DUI will be charged as a felony, as opposed to a misdemeanor:
The lawyers at our firm will take a look at the facts of your case to see if there are legitimate defenses to be made. In many of the DUI cases we handle, we are able to identify mistakes the arresting officer made that can make proving the criminal elements of a felony DUI to a jury much more challenging for the prosecution. Those elements are:
Additionally, as stated above, you can be automatically charged with a felony DUI if:
Defense to felony DUI charges include:
If you're curious about how the Johnson Criminal Law Group can defend you, give us a call and speak with our DUI lawyer today.